Blackened thrash/death doesn’t sound good?

Daiena

Feb 16, 2022
europe
I’m still new to metal but I found songs that I really liked and that genre was black metal. So I wanted to hear more, people suggested bands like Marduk and Immortal, telling me they are great to start with.

I listened to their albums, mostly Immortal, and didn’t like it at all. If this was black metal then this is for sure not my thing. I gave up but found my way back through a band called Sargeist. I really liked them and soon I was discovering more and more. It was only getting better and better. I found my favorites among Akitsa, Sargeist, Revenant Marquis, Horna, Burzum, Cesium Syndrome and Mutiilation. Also Darkthrone Panzerfaust and Transilvanian Hunger are good.

When I asked about why some bands sound so horrible, like a distinct sound I couldn’t put words to, people said there are absolutely NO difference. Everything is black metal, period.

it wasn’t until just recently I found an answer to this. The bands (songs whatever) that sounded so bad played something called black n roll, blackened thrash and blackened death. Why didn’t anyone explain that to me? It would make it so much easier for me to know what to avoid and what to listen to.

Now when I want to discover new bands I found that my best bet is to search “raw black metal” to get the music I like. So when I look for raw bm, mostly, I don’t get that black n roll sound but instead great music that blowed me away because I connected instantly.

What do you think about all this? Anyone else who feels like I do? What’s your taste?

Last edited:
most newbies have to ease into BM from something lighter which is why people recommend immortal (and bands like emperor, summoning, dissection), whose later material is quite poppy and accessible, or they're coming into it from more mainstream genres like thrash in which case they'll recommend a black/thrash hybrid. sounds like you aren't one of those people though.