Classical music appreciation thread.

Ethereal Sage

Mind Of Out Sight Of Out
Dec 30, 2001
In a cacoon
Visit site
We all know that classical music affects the bands we love, direcetly or indirecetly. I wish to make a thread where we may benefit from information concerning classical artists who have shaped and influenced the musical expressions we hear today.

Please post any names and tracks of classical artists who you think have played an important role in shaping their 'future' of music...any artist who you feel has pushed the boundaries of their era of sonic communication, or at least made a name for themselves (even posthumasly) in capturing the spirit of their time in music.

I NEED/LOVE classical music, but am at a loss with names of specific pieces of lasting impression.

Let us all help each other to explore the roots of our current addictions :worship:

P.S.: I will edit and make more sense when I am less inebriated :p

I'm not a classical expert. This genre can be overwhelming and intimidating. Also doesn't help that many pieces were named with numbers, heh. But one of my all-time favourites to listen to is "Moonlight Sonata." Other cliched responses include Carmina Burana, Barber's Adagio for Strings, Swan Lake, Beethoven's symphonies, Chopin's nocturnes, Bach's Toccata & Fugue in Dm, and some Arvo Part and Schubert pieces whose titles I can't recall now. The classical pieces I like are largely from the classical and romantic period.

I have no idea if it's important or not, but I am ridiculously fond of Smetana's "The bartered bride" and Tjajkovskij's (sorry, I know you English-speaking people transcribe his name differently) "Piano Concerto No. 1"

I listen to Richard Clayderman when growing up, so I got a taste of classical music, piano-wise.

As for a big influence, I got to give credit to the Looney Tunes cartoons for introducing a lot of good classical music.

loon
Arch said: