First band that aren't "friends". Need help!

Ganks

Nov 1, 2009
Hey guys,

So I've got a band coming to record with me this weekend.

Here's the gear we'll be testing out.

AMPS:

Mesa Single Rec
Peavey ValveKing
Randall RH300 (Possibly blown tubes. Not sure.. Haven't been able to get a good live sound out of it.)

CABS:
Ampeg 4x12
Randall 4x12
Marshall 4x12 (Celestions)
Crate 4x12 (Celestions)

Possible other options:
POD FARM.

The band says they really want to record their amps, but this frightens me because I'm not that experienced with recording actual amps. I'm definitely going to try the Fredman micing technnique (SM57 & Sennheiser e609 Silver).

But other than that, I'm not sure what I'm doing when it comes to micing an amp.

I'm definitely going to be taking DI's of their tracks just in case.

But yeah..
Any suggestions you could give?

PS - They have a very raw & chaotic sound very close to "The Chariot" or "Norma Jean".
They are specifically recording WITHOUT a click track to maintain some rawness.

Thanks guys.

Without click? Good luck man. About the amps, just put the mic in the spot where the cone meets the speaker. Usually never has bad results.

Yep, no click.

They've recorded before so hopefully it'll work out.
I just let them know that I couldn't quantize and edit their drums to a grid.

For rawness? I've heard that one before. :lol: No great suggestions. Just try stuff. I'd start simple, get an amp sounding good in the room and put one mic on it and if that's good then play around with dual micing etc.

Yeah, I know.
I'm crossing my fingers for this one.

I've been to a couple of their shows. My band has actually played with them.

And their sound is VERY raw. But personally, I just like recordings to be tight.. No matter what the style.

I wouldn't even bother with the two mic technique. Just put one of your 57s slightly off the center of the cone about an inch from the cloth. Adjust from there.

Good luck with the no click thing.