I went, I saw, I drank

ShadowLioness

\m/ \m/
Jan 3, 2002
Suburbs of Chicago
Visit site
Ahhhh...just came back from a long weekend down in the southern bowls of Illinois(Carbondale, where I graduated many moons ago, heh). Besides watching one of my best friends get engaged on stage at a show there (among other strange and entertaining happenings), I also attended their annual Beerfest...minor details follow for those that wish to be bored out of their puny skulls...

First I would like to say that this isn't the greatest Beerfest ever. I have attended "Brewmaster's Dinners" that were more appealing; however, if one looks past the annoyances and the inconvenience, a good time can be had by all...

One word: HOT as HELL...okay that was three words. Anyway, Saturday was indeed one hot mother friggin' day, and, seeing as the event was held outdoors, I knew I was in store for a LONG sweaty afternoon...

One curiosity: I always find it amazing that people would pay money to attend these kind of events just to turn around and drink things like Budweiser and Miller. Personally, I like to go to these things to try things that I GENERALLY can't go to the nearest store and buy or just things I have never tasted before. This was a college town though, so all of your frat boys flocked to the nearest Michelob table and guzzled...ah well.

Unfortunately I didn't get to try as many beers as I wanted to...due to the heat and immense number of people. My original plan was to check off all the beers I tasted on the little program that you get. That didn't happen either, so I am working strictly from memory here...

I do remember trying quite a few beers from Germany (ahhhhhh). Notable ones were the Erdinger Weiss Beer and the Frankenheim.