If I like [BLANK], then what else should I be listening to?

JayKeeley

Be still, O wand'rer!
Apr 26, 2002
www.royalcarnage.com
I thought we could use a thread for "peer to peer" education. It can be used for recommendations based on what we're listening to....so, here goes:

If I like EMPEROR - IN THE NIGHTSIDE ECLIPSE, then what else should I be listening to?

Reasons why I like Nightside Eclipse:

Symphonic and incredibly ruthless in its riff and melodies. Although it may not be intended this way, it reminds me of battles in the cold nightly mountainside forest.

The vocals are so fucking drastic, witch-like, and high pitched - it's like hearing the sound of someone having their spine pulled from their back.

Most of all, the music just sends shivers down my back. It carries so much depth. I'm no expert on true black metal, I don't deny it, but this album is changing me each time I hear it. It's addictive. It's scary. I can't get enough of it.

Fix me.

:Spin:

Surely you already have 'Anthems to the Welkin at Dusk'. It's a little different, but it is still totally awesome. Phyre isn't quite as high on it, but what does he know anyway.

If I like Xasthur, then what else should I be listening to.

I like it's totally harsh, sickening, black-as-hell feel. It's like black metal played from the depths of a dungeon deep, deep beneath the earth.

Carpathian Forest - Strange Old Brew

Maybe not quite the speedy metallic frenzy that is In The Nightside Eclipse, but definitely contains most of the qualities you've mentioned. Just a KILER eerie atmosphere on that one, plus I think The End has it extremely cheap. I got mine there for $8 previously.

Think you'll really enjoy it.

npearce said:
Surely you already have 'Anthems to the Welkin at Dusk'. It's a little different, but it is still totally awesome. Phyre isn't quite as high on it, but what does he know anyway.

Ordered it in my last haul. I had Prometheus and Nightside Eclipse previously only.