Listening your own music?

Originally posted by speakinstone
I'm not a musician, so I'm just curious.. Do you guys, whoever has a band, ever listen to your own music?

I asked that question few guys from different bands and always got a similar answer.. when you get out of the studio you are happy when you don´t have to listen to it anymore :rolleyes: :lol: Mikael from Opeth even said that he doesn´t like it when his music is played at parties because people do that "thumb-up"-thing towards him then :err:
:lol:

I would imagine you'd get really sick of your own music after recording sessions, but you keep listening to it till it sounds perfect to you... with people just in local and unsigned bands, it probably isn't as bad...

in another interview though, i clearly remember akerfeldt saying he was a great fan of his own music...not as much as HIM, though! he tells an experience of his: once before a gig, they are at their hotel room, and HIM is staying right beside them. mikael said they were loudly singing along to their own music which was being played from a player in a room! lololol

Originally posted by Don Corleone
they were loudly singing along to their own music which was being played from a player in a room! lololol

And maybe alcohol had something to do with this, don't you think? :D

But who knows, it's possible that they like only HIM:lol:

If you like to listen to your own music, you're on the good way, I guess... I mean if you don't like it, why do you play then? (money? aaaargh you fucker)

I typically don't listen to my bands music that much. After being in the studio and and recording our songs, and listening to the mix over and over again, it gets tiresome. But it's different on the road, at least for me. We've been on the road for 3 months now, and our songs kinda have a whole different feeling about them live, creating a new life for themselves. I rarely ever listen to our studio recordings anymore.

Originally posted by podboy6