The power of Alternative 4

requiem

I bleed sir, but not killed
Jul 6, 2001
Australia
Well, I'm listening to Alternative 4, and I have to say that it's one of the greatest albums I've ever heard.

I've been listening since 1998, and have my own slipcase copy, and the music is absolutely exactly what I look for in music.

Just thought you'd like to hear about a fan favourite. Everyone here obviously has their favourite etc, but I just wanted to comment on this album (p.s it's not my favourite Anathema album)

I agree completely! This is one of those special albums that we'll look back on in 20 years time & STILL consider it CLASSIC!!

The songs, from start to finnish, really are all fantastic & extremelly moving.

"Fragile Dreams" may be the best song of the last 10 years!!!!!!!

I agree with you completely. I just got that album and have been trying to get my friends to listen to it, I've made some new fans to say the least.
Anathema, one of the most under-rated bands of all.

peace

One of my favorite albums. It's very strange to me because it's not a album i can say it's full of technical riffs, or heavy, or really sad. It's a good album, it has great epic tracks as "Shroud of False" or "Regret" but in the end is just an easy going album, it gives no resistance to no metal listeners and it may be heard by metal listeners. More than worthy of the investment

Definately one of the best albums ever! But the song that hits me is "Regret", some of the most wonderful lyrics i've ever heard, especially the way it ends.... ;)

I agree....Alternative 4 is an amazing album. It's probably my favorite Anathema album, but that's hard to decide which one is my favorite. It definitely ranks near the top of my list. Great, great album. I must say that I enjoy the Pink Floyd element of it...one of the many great things about that album.

Not to be an arsehole or anything, but Don Corleone.. doesn't 'benighted' mean ignorant?