Mikael's Voice

Spinifex

New Metal Member
Mar 11, 2006
OK, I'm relatively new to Dark Tranquillity. The first album I heard was Projector and I love it. I really like the mix of 'growling' and 'singing'. So I bought Haven since it came out after that, and the music is quite good, but well, the vocals are all the same - growling (also sort of subdued). Are there other albums like Projector or have I just discovered the album I would like most first? What are some opinions of Mikael's voice, especially his 'singing' on Projector?

Welcome to the boards. :)

Unfortunately, Projector is the only album with "singing" vocals (not counting Emptier still on Haven). All other albums have growling (and very powerful) vocals. Projector is Dark Tranquillity's "mellow" album.

welcome!

imho, mikeal's voice is just the most fascinating and powerful voice of the the whole metal scene, coz it mixed harsh growling+screaming and sometimes also clean vocals.. it changes every time and this is what makes it abosolutely unique. anyway u better check out all other albums, and let's hope in the next one mikeal pulls out of the drawer clean vocals once again!

UndoControl said:
(not counting Emptier still on Haven)
And Through Ebony Archways on Skydancer.
I'm not sure I care for clean vocals in Dark Tranquillity, since after the initial Projector-phase I've started mostly preferring their heavier stuff.

@Spinifex: well, you have to listen to that "growling" a lot more. Theres plenty of different colours and emotions in it. It sounds the same on the first few listens, but then youll realise Mikeal is really good at it. He can talk and whisper in the growling manner and there are also other specialties he uses, which you have to disclose first. I dont care much for clean vocals either, because I think Mikael is not so sure a singer as he is a, lets say, growler.