Votes: 29 34.1%
  • Other (E.g. Keyboards, Piano)

Votes: 5 5.9%

• Total voters

dishcloth

Boozehound & metalhead...
Oct 14, 2005
Melbourne, Australia
Most people on this forum seem to predominantly be guitarists. Just interested in what instruments people play and why? Was metal (or Opeth in particular) a major influence to make you learn? Why/why not?

Me? I'm a vocalist (growling, heavy rock style voice) and at the moment I'm keen on learning a bit of guitar, though I suck real bad.

Vocalist, and obviously metal was a huge influence on me. I've always been a vocalist because I am not a musician! And I've always prefered good lyrics to good music and always will.
Metal music is great, but I don't really want to be a part of a metal band. I'd rather do what my band does now, rather than copy Opeth or something. I couldn't live without metal, its what inspires me but its certainly not at all what I want my own music to be like. Opeth and other bands I like do it so well, so I'd rather do my own thing.
I was also tempted to play bass and guitar just for the sake of learning, and but I'd never do it in a band!!

Oh I'm the combo guy and even though I was pretty good at guitar (although who's to tell...) before falling in love with Opeth, playing their songs taught me a lot about singing and playing at the same time... even more than playing them metallicar' oldies :D and Mike inspired me a hell lot as a vocalist, as I have a similar voice range to his, and as guitarist too - especially his old-rock-leads... Goddamn! As somebody said it before, if I were a woman, I'd give birth to his children! :D

I am a guitarist mainly, but I try to sing too. I'm not that good at singing but at least I love to do it. I occasionally pick up a bass or drum at a friend's place. Also, I have a keyboard but I don't play it that much.