Why did you get into audio engineering?

It started for me when I wanted to record riffs. I had a Roland Cube 30 with a line-out function. It didn't sound that bad but it didn't sound as good as my favorite bands! I wanted to record a good guitar sound and discovered in order to get a good guitar sound, you need a good mix. And here I am, mixing music.

I was heavy into punk/hardcore and I was a firm believer in DIY or die. Me and my friend started making music when I bought that 4 track cassette tape machine, and I just knew there could be better results. I started learning online then eventually I found this forum.

The many studios I recorded in with my band were either, too amateur sounding in here or too expensive when having to catch a plane and fly 5.000 kms, paying hostel, transportation, food... to record with a good engineer but it always lacked some professional touch, anyway.

First recording, I tracked drums at a hired studio and began tracking everything else myself at a friends' room when they weren't using it.

When I was younger, I listened to music 24/7 and I always liked to play a lot with the controls of my music player systems.

So, DIY out of necessity and curiosity to make my songs sounding better.

Like many, just started wanting to document my own songs basically. I had a 4 track Fostex cassette unit and a Zoom drum machine, started learning how to program drum and basslines and put it to my guitar. That was the most amazing shit ever at the time! To hear your 'vision' realized and come to life. I had just moved to a new city so didn't know too many people to start a band yet.

From there just kept refining and learning more and more to make things sound better. Eventually people started asking me to record them too after hearing my stuff, so I gave it a try and ended up really enjoying it (with the good bands).