Black metal

Mercy/Severity

burnt face man
Sep 23, 2005
Hi, I'm a bit of a newbie to black metal, I have seemed to thrive on death metal more... but I have recently gotten into some BM.

Could anyone recommend more melodic/symphonic black metal to me? Stuff that is more about sorrowful/bleak atmosphere rather than just raw aggression?

The BM I have is as follows:
Emperor - In the Nightside Eclipse
Destroyer 666 - Phoenix Rising
Bathory - Hammerheart
Dimmu Borgir - all (I don't call them black metal, but some seem to so I'll throw it in)
Cradle of Filth - all (^)

Please, recomendations? thanks.

Make sure you get all of the early black metal bands before you do anything, Burzum - Hvis Lyset Tar Oss, Immortal - Pure Holocaust, Ulver - Bergtatt and maybe Mayhem - De Mysteriis Dom Sathanas.

Once you've got them, try some of the newer, more accessible black metal bands.

Taake - Nattestid Ser Porten Vid
Sigh - Hail Horror Hail
Dødheimsgard - 666 International
Drudkh - Autumn Aurora
Diabolical Masquerade - Death's Design
Black Funeral - Az-i-Dahak

If you like depressive black metal, make sure you also get Silencer - Death - Pierce Me, Weakling - Dead As Dreams, I Shalt Become - Wanderings and Shining - Within Deep Dark Chambers.

some other albums to try :

Deathspell Omega - Kénôse
Emperor - IX Equilibrium
Nargaroth - Black Metal Ist Krieg
Woods of Ypres - Pursuit of the Sun & Allure of the Earth
Carpathian Forest - Black Shining Leather
Dornenreich - Her Von Welken Nächten
Secrets Of The Moon - Carved in Stigmata Wounds
Negurã Bunget - 'n Crugu Bradului
Klabautamann - Der Ort
let me know what you thought of these (dload before you buy anything too ;)):headbang:

Well, Hammerheart by Bathory isn't Black Metal, it's Viking Metal. However, you should listen to his albums "Blood, Fire, Death", "The Return", and "Under the Sign of the Black Mark" for some good BM by Bathory.

Also, I'd listen to whoever pointed out Nokturnal Mortum.