I wanna switch to Pro Tools

::XeS::

Mar 30, 2005
Italy
www.myspace.com
Hi
I'm thinking to switch to protools but I'm curious about your advices..

I reject the M-Powered option because of its limitations.

The other 2 option are PTLE and PTHD.

With PTLE I would use a Digi003 (the 8 pre version) with some 3rd part Pre module....oh, and a music production kit (for more tracks) and I would be done.

With PTHD, due to the high cost of every interface, I would go with a pcie card and a 96i/o..but with this solution I would need 16 external preamp..so addictional cost.

What do you think? Actually I'm not a pro so an HD system should be excessive. Is a PTLE a good solution? My doubts are mainly about the 003 quality (shitty preamps, high price) compared to the other card on the market and about the track limitation...

Thank you very much

If you're not a "pro" maybe the LE version would be best. I mean, with the production kit and all I think PTLE is up to 64 tracks now(?) That should be more than enough for you to do what you need. I think you can also still use an 002. You could probably find one really cheap on ebay or something and even get it modded for a fair price, make it sound better without killing yourself on the cost of everything

I guess it helps to know what your level of use is also

just my quick thoughts on it

Cheers!

Not seriously considering switching at this point, but if the need arises (I.E. Labels start demanding PT) just curious what I should be looking for in an HD system to track & mix bands. Hopefully PT at least has some lightpipe on it so I can still keep my fireface for an extra 8 ins...