Lopez's Best Works

Dammnare

Feb 16, 2008
I think Deliverance and Ghost Reveries was the albums that I really enjoyed drumming-wise. Not that others were bad but I think these 2 are the most interesting.

By The Pain I See in Others and Ghost of Perdition are my favourites.

BTPISIO : The whole song is great drumming-wise.

Ghost of Perdition: The fantastic (lol noone got it so I edited ^^) part at " Keeper of holy whores.."

What do you guys think ?

You forgot his personal touch with the tamboril in Closure...some kind drums that I like in TGC aswell in wreath I think is tamboril too..correct me if Im wrong

I love all his little details on the splashes and in grooves on Still Life, so I must say that that album has some amazing drumming. Being a drummer myself, I've listened most carefully to his drumming on all the albums.

I loved Lopez's drumming on the albums, especially Closure.

However, the few times I got to see him live (he was always out sick for my shows), he was disappointing. Not a very solid live drummer in the shows I've seen :erk:

Edit: Axe did a better job live, albeit a little weak on the double bass.

Lamentations DVD. Unedited, uncut, dynamic, live bliss.

he fucks up fairly noticeably in lamentations, especially the heavy set (iirc he fucks up ma, tla, tdf)

studio-wise he was perfect, live-wise mike has said that lopez was inconsistent with some of the trickier beats and his double bass.

ponie said:
Edit: Axe did a better job live, albeit a little weak on the double bass.
that's funny, because axe is solid on the double bass parts while lopez was always fluctuating tempos in every single boot I've heard dating back to 2001.