Me and Opeth and non metal fans.

astrochimp

An AOLTime Warner Company
Oct 20, 2002
Visit site
(Worst subject line ever) SKIP THE FIRST 2/3rds OF THIS POST IF YOU DON'T WANT TO HEAR MY BACKSTORY...

I just registered onto this board tonight, but I just want to sort of introduce myself before anyone just automatically hates me or says "Who the hell is this bastard." (I don't usually do crap like this, but it seems right here).

I'm a 20 year old college student from Minnesota, and I don't like metal in general. I loved Metallica back in my younger years, and I listened to plenty of Alice and Chains and stuff like that, but nowadays I'm into mosty non-heavy indie type stuff like the Flaming Lips, The Dismemberment Plan, Elliott Smith, Built To Spill, Godspeed You Black Emperor, etc etc etc etc...

But last summer I just happened upon Blackwater Park in one of those listening stations at a record store. I really liked the "O" on their logo (I'm a design student, so I notice this kind of crap), so I took a listen. The growling singing started and I was thinking " Oh great...another frikkin death metal band," but something about the music intrigued me enough to continue listening.

I stood in the record store for ten minutes listening to the entire song, and by the end I was just astounded. I listened to more of it right there and became even more astounded. I bought the record that night, and listened to it pretty much constantly for the next day or two. I was just absolutely amazed at the music they make, and I still am today. By the end of the summer I had all 5 albums, and consider myself quite an unlikely fan of the band, who in my opinion is simply one of the two or three best bands out there today.

Anyhow...I can't imagine anyone actually read that, but whatever. This leads me to my question...

Opeth is pretty much the only metal band I listen to (though I also really like Neurosis). Is anyone else on this board the same way?