Musical activities

Oct 13, 2001
Espoo, Finland
When discussing music with various people it often comes to my attention that many of those who like metal music are musically talented as well - at least in some way, yet most usually they do play an instrument, and possibly in a band. This certainly may be a trend not usual everywhere, but where I live - that being Finland - there is a huge percentage of musically active persons within the subculture that is metal. Therefore it just crossed my mind to ask whether there are many musicians on this board - for considering that Opeth is both metal AND extremely inspiring, the odds for many musically active persons being on this board seem, at least to my logic, rather big.
(I am personally in a musical group called THUS PERISH, and needless to say, Opeth have had a hand in the formation of our own style.)

Have any music we can check out??? BTW, I am a musician as well....check the sig...

It does seem like many Opeth fans are indeed musicians, I tend to stereotype almost every opeth fan as one!

I play bass, guitar, and drums. Of those, I play bass and guitar most actively. I have kind of a band with a friend, but we don't really practice regularly, and when we do we mostly play covers. So really I'm not the uber-musician some of you probably are; Music is just another hobby among many others.

And by the way, hi! This being my first post (hopefully of many to come) and all. :)

well.... i consider all those countries in europe ALOT higher then the USA musically.... becase of course european bands are amazing and US bands arent as amazing musically..... so anyway.... these are my friends that are metal and their instruments and skill level

me/ guitar/good
dan/guitar/good
pete/guitar/semi good
derek/guitar/shitty
tom/bass/semi good
nick/drunks/pretty good
mike/guitar/shitty
kane/bass/good
sheep/drums/bad
andrew/vox/horrible

so.... 6 out of 10 are at least decent