Nu-metal: I need your opinion!

JdeTheije

New Metal Member
May 25, 2007
Let me introduce myself, my name is Jarno de Theije, I’m a musicology student at the university of Groningen, The Netherlands.
I’m writing a paper on Nu-metal as a musical genre and why it came to such a sudden downfall. Also I’m trying to uncover why the heavy metal scene never really accepted Nu-metal.
I’m currently in the research stage and I need your opinions.
I would like to ask you to fill out the questionnaire below and please do this sincerely and also tell me why you gave a certain answer (questions like “I don’t like it because it’s just shit” are of no value to my research)

I would like to thank you in advance for your time and effort!

1.) I like/dislike Nu-metal because…
2.) I do/don’t think Nu-metal is a real sub-genre of Heavy metal because…
3.) I think Nu-metal was so populair in the late ‘90’s because…
4.) I think Nu-metal came to such a sudden downfall because…
5.) I think the Heavy metal scene never really accepted Nu-metal because…

Note:
Try to consider things that have happened or are happening in the Heavy metal scene when you give your answer, for example: if you think the Heavy metal scene never accepted Nu-metal because it was too popular and too mainstream, think about the fact that in the late ‘80’s Heavy metal accounted for over 40% of all record sales and some bands could have been considered mainstream.

Thanks again for your time, I appreciate it!

1.) I like/dislike Nu-metal because…It just the IDEA of metal to try and capitalize on the huundres of teen age anger.

2.) I do/don’t think Nu-metal is a real sub-genre of Heavy metal because…It sounds nothing like metal really sounds like. How can a rapper or some one screming take the place over death grunts?

3.) I think Nu-metal was so populair in the late ‘90’s because…Rap and hard rock were at its hight and they collided and made nu-metal