Opeth-newbie...

The Old Oak

Kind der Stille!!
Dec 11, 2002
Denmark
Visit site
As it looks Opeth is one of the most popular bands on UM, But why have I never heard a single song from those guys. I have been listening to all kinds of metal since 1991 so I im not a newbie....The only thing I can explain this with is that they are no-good.....or else I would know them ;() Well seriously I would like to have some songs recommended.......and maybe they will have a new fan soon!!.....Thanx

Seems like u people have many favorite songs...even thogh they are not the same......hmmm!!!!..makes it diifficult for me to decide with song I will choose!. This song keeps the faith of opeth in its hands......

The Old Oak said:
Seems like u people have many favorite songs...even thogh they are not the same......hmmm!!!!..makes it diifficult for me to decide with song I will choose!. This song keeps the faith of opeth in its hands......

look thing is opeth is so diverse, but i started of with bleak and the night & silent water, its as good a start for anyone.

NECTAR!!!!!!!!!!
WHEN!!!!!!!!!!!
THE AMEN CORNER!!!!!!!!!!!
How could no one mention these songs?!?!?! These songs will get you hooked!

I must admit I'm a bleak-ite. That's the song that hooked me.

Here are my recomendations:

Face of Melinda (mellow metal at its finest, reveals a captivating story)
Benighted (this is the definition of accoustic metal. finger pricking goodness. :p )
My arms your hearse-entire album (swedish death metal... heavy... oh yeah, this is what progressive death metal is all about)
Black Rose Immortal (outstanding vocals... breathetaking riffs, what more can you ask for)
Bleak (if all else fails, lol)
Deliverance (progressiveness out the wazoo, has a dream theater-ish feel to it, riffs that just grab your soul and wont left go, beautiful array of vocals... *sigh* i feen for this song.)

p.s. if you ever insult opeth like that again... lets just leave it at that, lol.:err: