What does this band sound like live?

BriGreentea

Oct 6, 2008
Fort Worth, TX
I'm somewhat new to Opeth. I only really knew of them long ago from the singer that did Katatonia's Brave Murder Day album so then found out about Opeth. I got Damnation, which at the time wasn't my cup of tea...after all I thought they were a metal band? So, I really started out on the wrong album and after listening to Blackwater Park I have a greater appreciation for Damnation now.

I was wondering though, how does this band work only having two guitars? With all the acoustic passages, how would playing electric guitars the whole time work? I've heard a few great bands in the studio that sound great and doesn't sound well live just because they are not able to play everything from the studio. With this band since the acoustic guitar is such a big deal, is that not played live at all?

They sound just like the CD except better. They just switch to the clean channel with the electric guitar. I'm sure Mike has an acoustic immitator thing too.

they are fantastic live, trust me. They pull off the mellow/acoustic sections awesomely live, but it is generally a bit more intense than on the albums. Some of the subtleties are lost live, but the intensity,mood and atmosphere of hearing it live more than make up for it.

I'm somewhat new to Opeth. I only really knew of them long ago from the singer that did Katatonia's Brave Murder Day album so then found out about Opeth. I got Damnation, which at the time wasn't my cup of tea...after all I thought they were a metal band? So, I really started out on the wrong album and after listening to Blackwater Park I have a greater appreciation for Damnation now.