The Language Thread

Vimana

Mar 2, 2007
What languages do you speak? What languages are you learning? Discuss anything language-related here. This also serves as an outlet so that my long-winded posts about language do not crowd up other threads.

Other than English, I speak pretty good Spanish. I wouldn't say I'm fluent yet, but within a few months in a Spanish-speaking country I'm sure I'd be fluent. I'm planning on heading over to one in January.

Currently I am studying Korean. It's mostly out of interest, and also because I do want to visit South Korea sometime. I'd heard that 55% of the vocabulary is derived from Chinese, but I'm not seeing it so far. The grammar is pretty similar in some respects, like the placing of adverbs. Korean seems to hold on to some of the case mechanics found in related languages like Turkish, Finnish, and Mongolian in the form of putting prepositions at the end of nouns. It was a bit weird at first, but I got used to it. I learned the alphabet in three days. It's that easy. Not everything is pronounced as it's spelled, but it's pretty easy to get used to. There are also some sandhi, but they're really easy.

My list of languages that I may learn in the future are as follows:

Chinese
French
Cantonese
Japanese
Korean
Arabic
Russian
Latin
Attic Greek
Sanskrit

It's not as daunting as it sounds. I'm pretty good at languages, and five of the ones I mentioned in the list are Indo-European, so I'd have a pretty good edge on pretty much every aspect of them.

I know English, Arabic and Armenian fluently. I can speak and understand Turkish, a bit of French and Italian.
If i have the time and energy, i'm thinking of studying German and Norwegian. Although chances of me studying Norwegian are very slim.

If you know English, Norwegian's pretty easy. I have a book and I picked it up really easily.

How hard was it to learn Turkish? I looked at the grammar and it seemed like a clusterfuck.