What didn't you like about Deliverance?

Oct 13, 2005
First, i appologize since I'm sure this post has been made numerous times, but im a noob here and was quite curious to the question in the subject.

I personally find Deliverance to be an outstanding release. Better than Damnation, better than Blackwater Park and better than even Ghost Reveries. I guess I can't really give a valid reason as to why other than that it just really hits home to me. From the moment Wreath opens right to the closing moments of By The Pain I See In Others, the album totally blows me away. Although I must say I hated the album on my very first listen (Coincidently, I disliked every Opeth album on the first listen, not sure why.)

Most people seem to think it's their weakest album, I just don't see it. I'd say that Blackwater Park is their weakest, although by no means is it a poor album. I think BwP is awesome, just my least favorite of all their albums.

So back to the topic, what didn't you like about Deliverance?

I don't know if Deliverance is their weakest album, but its the one I listen to the least. For me it doesn't have a consistent feel through the whole album like the darkness of MAYH or the sorrow of Still Life. That's not to say it's a bad album, but I guess it comes down to what appeals to you in Opeth's music.

I have no problem with it.

It's a lot better than Ghost Reveries, which is still a great album.

I think part of the reason most people dont like it as much is because the production is really weak compared to the last couple of albums before it. Personally,though, I think Lopez has his best sound on Deliverance. His kicks sound like DEATH METAL kicks and it just plain works. I never liked his drum sound on any other album (esp Ghost Reveries, snare sounds kind of fake to me, not that it is mind you...)The distorted guitars on the other hand come off as really weak and thin compared to the aural onslaught and beefiness of BWP or Still Life.