Workout routines

Metaltastic

Feb 20, 2005
Alright, jumping off the "jocks and metal" thread, here's my dilemma - I've been lifting weights regularly for the past ~3 years now, and I fucking bust my ass in the gym like you wouldn't believe - seriously, low reps, lifting until complete rep failure, borderline shitting my intestines out (not really, but you know), and I just can't put on any sizable mass. My current routine is:

Monday: Back/biceps
Wednesday: Chest/Delts/Tris
Friday: Quads/Hams/Abs (fuck calves, too much effort :D)

And every week I do a different excercise for each muscle group, varying on a 4 week cycle (so for chest, for example, week 1 dumbbell presses, week 2 flyes, week 3 incline, week 4 bench), and like I said, I do 4 sets of reps, starting semi-light with 6 reps as a warm up, then upping the weight for each set (so with the dumbbell chest presses, 6x@35 lbs. per hand, then 5x 40, another 5x 40, and then 4x 45). This may not seem like much weight, but I'm telling you, I give it my absolute all to make that amount of reps, and if I find I can do more, then I up the weight.

So really, I kinda feel like genetically my body type is that of a pretty skinny dude with not much muscle definition, and no amount of exercise is gonna drastically change that (pics in my myspace in my sig, and note the dates of them in the captions, cuz I have improved a bit over the years ;)). However, I'm open to suggestions!

And, I eat A LOT, good god - I've tried the protein powders (I still take 'em), the high-calorie protein powders, and just eating a fuckload of protein/calories in general, and I find all it really does is just add a bit more fat, not much more muscle. So...suggestions? (Tony? You're the one going to college for this crap after all :D)

I suggest you google the very old threads where CJ and guys where still posting in. Helped me a lot.