Chicks in Metal

Lady_Relic

Jan 22, 2007
Love 'em? Hate 'em? Respect 'em in any way?

Lacuna would be different without a chick singer. Sinergy with a guy singer wouldn't be Sinergy. AE without Angela, well I think she came at the right time and I don't look at her as the chick, but as the vocalist and that's it. I think she's that convincing.

Do you consciously/subconsciously approach listening to a metal band with a female singer from a different angle than one with a dude singer? Listen for more flaws? Are you more critical? Think- Who did she fuck somewhere down the line to convince these dudes to play for her?

I do. Always. I hate divas in metal, I hate it when they wreak of "I'm superior simply because of my vagina".

Being a chick who generally hates chicks in metal and has plans to become one in the end- I'm an oxymoron. And I'm a guitarist and vocalist. Which may make for more criticism.

I'd like some feedback no matter how stupid. What's good, what's bad, what makes a female in a metal band respectable and convincing when compared to her male peers, etc. I want to be held to the same par as every other musician. I hate hearing "She's good for a girl." "Wow a girl who shreds."

I know I'm gonna have to deal as I already do but any thoughts on provoking responses beyond that?

i really only look for flaws in metal with women vocalists when they sing kind of simone of epica and tarja. other than that, dosent matter much. as long as the music is good. and when i notice a female drummer in metal, im quite shocked myself.

I listen to maaany bands, which chicks play or sing in. And honestly I don't care as long as the band rocks. But I love bands with vocals like Arch Enemy's Angela and Decadence's Kitty :heh: