Curious about Black Metal....

Being a musician, I tend to gravitate towards music that's overflowing with talent, and tend to be seriously turned off by stuff that's talentless or overrated. And with this approach, I honestly can't name a single genre out there that I haven't been able to find great music in.

It always seemed to me that if you forget about the image and ideology behind the music, and just listen to the music FOR the music (disregarding stuff with shitty production if you don't like that), then I find that there's a whole lot of music out there in a ton of different genres that's seriously good, and worth a listen or two. After all, when the CD is in the CD player, what the hell do I care if the guy on the CD cover is wearing corpsepaint? The more styles you listen to, the more exposed you are to an enormous amount of different ideas, philosophies, moods, atmospheres and messages. I personally love that kind of stuff... I love experiencing different ideas, regardless of whether I subscribe to their individual points of view.

Like Satan and black metal, for example... I don't worship Satan, and have no desire to do so... but forget about the fact that these bands are singing about Satan, and think about what their interests in Satan are doing to their music, and how it reflects in their mood and atmosphere. It can be seriously intense!! Makes for some killer dark moody music. But of course, if you don't like dark moody music, then I'm sure it won't be to your liking.