Help This Noob...

nissan

Sep 3, 2005
Hello all. I'm a Noob in need of help...

ok ive headr a few metal songs and i like what i heard.

i heard songs such as One, Fade to Black, Nothing Else Matters, from metallica. Fear of the dark, Children of the Damned, from Iron Maiden... and some others which i also liked..

I dont like however the lyrics of some metal, such as death and evil and stuff like that, i also dislike the growling-sounding vocals of some bands such as Arch Enemy, i jsut like normal singing and Iron Maiden type vocals...

I really like the music, guitar,drums of Children of Bodom, but i dont like the vocals....

can someone help me out with bands that i would like and maybe an example of a song that i would like from each band...

all help appreciated, Thanks...

Iced Earth
Dragonforce
Nevermore
Sonata Arctica
Edguy
Avantasia
Dream Evil
Grave Digger
Symphony X
Dream Theater
Manowar (all the lyrics are about how kickass metal is basically. can't go wrong there)

give the harsh vocals a chance though. It takes some getting used to. just sorta have to think of them as another effect in the music. Using the voice as an instrument to convey whatever the feeling in the music is rather than just singing a song.

Diablo - Eternium can be a good introduction to harsh vocals since there's also a good bunch of clean vocals

other albums for a Newbie
Wintersun - s/t
Helloween - The Dark Ride
Persuader - Evolution Purgatory
Avenged Sevenfold - City of Evil
3 Inches Of Blood - Advance & Vanquish (another cool introduction to harsh vocals)
Manowar - Louder than Hell
Slough Feg - Atavism

and a ton of other wonders.... but start from here and you'll know more about your tastes... :D

I was like this when i first got into metal aswell and i seriously suggest you give harsh vocals a chance, because you will miss out on a whole load of amazing bands. Alternitavely, if you just can't get used to harsh vocals, I recommend Symphony X