My album production & release: a discussion

digitaldeath

Dec 7, 2008
Waterford, Ireland
Hey guys,
Firstly, I apologise for the long post. If you read it to the end, all I can say is "thank you!"
This kinda reminds me of some of Erkan's long posts! :lol:
I really value the opinion of the community here, so on we go...

Okay, so I've gone back to playing guitar (I'm a drummer) and I'm finally writing my own songs.
Let me start by saying that I'm not a metal guitarist for starters, when I was a kid I learned guitar by playing along to stuff like Nirvana, Silverchair, Green Day, Smashing Pumpkins, Sex Pistols, The Pixies etc.
I find that these influences are still evident in my playing 14 years later, although I have gotten much better in the last few months, experimenting with more varied tunings (currently playing in open-D tuning) and chords.
So basically, the stuff I've been writing so far is not metal at all, more hard rock/grunge.

Moving on, I am writing with the intent of releasing about 12 songs (we'll see how that goes) and I'm already thinking far ahead with regards to the release etc. I know it's still very early days, but I believe that by thinking of these things now, I'll save myself a lot of hassle further down the road.
Here's what I've been thinking so far.

1. Music will be distributed through all online stores (iTunes, Amazon etc.)

2. Music can also be purchased directly from my own website. This will entitle you to download the LP (with artwork) rendered in a higer bitrate in your favourite format (MP3, ogg, FLAC etc.)

3. A "Producer Edition" will be made available which will include all of the above plus the raw sessions (no post-fx) and extra goodies.

4. To save on costs, no physical copies will be available. Instead, all artwork will be provided ready to print, should you wish to burn a copy of the disc yourself and place everything into a jewel case.