What is your favorite thrash albums?

May 24, 2021
Thrash is one of my favorite genres of metal overall...here are five really good ones off the top of my head, these are all older:

*What are your favorite thrash albums...

Reactions: TechnicalBarbarity
Putting forward one of the more thrash influenced songs on an album with 22 tracks doesn't go very far at all towards explaining why you'd list it as a thrash album.

I wasn't originally asked for an explanation. Have you bothered to listen to the album?

i guess i only know it's a thrash album because i'm a guitarist. People typically say the band and album are grindcore. Grindcore is often just sped-up thrash. The vocals and drums on the pig destroyer album are grindy, but looking at it from the point of view of the guitar work, "prowler in the yard" has an intense butt rock element: that type of feeling that you hear in thrash, speed metal, and hard rock. Much of the aforementioned album sounds like motorhead to me. The drop A tuning of the guitar makes the album sound kinda like motorhead. Pig destroyer is overall an incredibly eclectic band.

It would take a while to write them all down, but if you go on youtube and search "best thrash metal of x" where x is the year you'll find my playlist for that year. 2021 could currently use some updating, but there's quite a lot to discover on there

My favorites:
Artillery - By Inheritance
Dark Angel - Leave Scars
Slayer - South of Heaven
Anthrax - Spreading the Disease
Testament - The Legacy

That artillery album is really good, i downloaded it shortly after you posted your list. However, I somehow am never compelled by Anthrax, I find this to be strange because they're so popular in the thrash/old-school genre.

There are so many hidden gems in metal...

Reactions: TempleOfBlood
Agree Prowler in the Yard certainly contains some thrash elements (especially on 'Naked Trees') but I don't consider it a thrash metal record. It's definitely grindcore. Just my 2 cents!