Are the Mainstream Bands hated among here?

Rommyali

Mar 21, 2010
O-TOWN
Im still a newbie here and wanted to know how you guys feel about the mainstream metal scene. IMO it kinda sucks but there are a few good songs. (even when i was in to rap i hated the mainstream and i still kinda do when it comes to rap)

So, my question is do you hate mainstream metal bands and what type of bands do you consider mainstream? Also do you see any talent whatsoever in them

Thanks

I'd try to mention mainstream bands as little as possible on here unless you want flamed. Before I joined these forums, I used to listen only to mainstream bands but I find myself listening to them less and less now. Don't let that put you off though. If you like a band because you enjoy their music then listen to them. It dosen't matter what other people think of them.

In these forums, anything that comes under the title of nu metal, metalcore or deathcore is usually considered mainstream.

Deathcore as a whole is definitely not mainstream, and you're fucking deluding yourself if you think it is. Some bands have achieved some popularity for whatever reason with mall kids, but that's more or less it.

When you say mainstream metal it's pretty ambiguous. Do you mean Metallica and Iron Maiden and other bands who can have clips of their stuff played in movies and people might recognize it?

Black Sabbath
Judas Priest
Mercyful Fate
King Diamond
Iron Maiden
Metallica
Megadeth
Slayer

...among others, are some of my favorite bands.

Dumb thread.