Watershed: Opeth's Most Rhythmically Impressive Album?

Heir Apparent

Feb 19, 2008
Alright, so I listened to the entire album again for the 10th time and I think that this is their most rhythmically impressive CD. Being a bassist myself, Martin's bass work is absolutely ridiculous. Songs like Hessian Peel and TLE are insane. The bass work on Coil and Burden is beautiful as well.

Axe's drumming is really outstanding, I was unsure how he would fit in the band at first. The drumming on TLE and Heir Apparent is awesome. I think that although Martin Lopez was an incredible drummer and I admire his work endlessly, Axe is more entertaining to listen to.

What do you guy's think?

I agree with it being very impressive for Martin. During the Rehearsal Tapes, he's really burning up the fretboard. Not to mention I think he went from a four string to a five string.

I disagree about it being there most rhythmically impressive though. That award goes to Still Life. Still Life has very complex rhythms.

Oh yeah, and Axe is incredible.

Although Axenrot is a more capable drummer, I'd still rather listen to Lopez. That said, Watershed is my favourite Opeth album. I just have a soft spot for Lopez,is all.

Alright, so I listened to the entire album again for the 10th time and I think that this is their most rhythmically impressive CD. Being a bassist myself, Martin's bass work is absolutely ridiculous. Songs like Hessian Peel and TLE are insane. The bass work on Coil and Burden is beautiful as well.

Axe's drumming is really outstanding, I was unsure how he would fit in the band at first. The drumming on TLE and Heir Apparent is awesome. I think that although Martin Lopez was an incredible drummer and I admire his work endlessly, Axe is more entertaining to listen to.

What do you guy's think?